Eye Contact

Eye Contact

A Novel

Book - 2006
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:
A young girl has been murdered and the only witness is a child who cannot tell what he saw In the woods of a small town, Adam, a nine-year-old autistic boy, is discovered hiding near to the body of his classmate. They both wandered off from the school playground several hours earlier, and now the police are relying on Adam as the only witness to an appalling crime. But he can’t tell the police what he saw—or what he heard. Barely verbal on the best of days, Adam has retreated into a silent world that Cara, his mother, knows only too well.With her community in shock and her son unable to help with the police investigation, Cara tries to decode the puzzling events. Adam has never broken the rules before, so why did he disappear with the little girl during recess? As a single mother, Cara has devoted her life to opening paths of communication between her son and the outside world. Now, she must interpret the changes in Adam’s behavior not only to help him through the trauma, but to help the police catch a killer. Cammie McGovern brings her own experience as the mother of an autistic child to articulate the struggles—and the victories—that consume the lives of parents raising children with special needs. A powerful story of the tangled emotional bond between mother and son, and a thrilling novel of psychological suspense, Eye Contactwon’t let you go. Lovers of Mystic Riverwill be captivated by this fresh and fascinating journey into the world of a child in crisis and a mother who longs to bring him through unscathed. BACKCOVER: “Eye Contactis a page-turner and I tore through it in twenty-four hours. But it’s more than that—it’s also a nuanced, poignant exploration of how all of us, with or without autism, struggle to find our place in the world. Cammie McGovern writes with grace and compassion.” —Curtis Sittenfeld, author of Prep "Cammie McGovern makes a satisfying marriage between an exploration of one of modern parenthood's greatest frustrations--autism--and murder mystery. Moreover, she displays considerable insight into the complex, often cruel hierarchies of childhood." —Lionel Shriver, author of We Need to Talk About Kevin “Once in a blue moon comes a literary thriller so full of our everyday lives that it rocks you back on your heels. This is it! This book. These sweet, funny, heartbreaking characters--these mothers and sons, broken friends and lovers--including one unforgettable little boy whose last gesture in those deadly, mysterious woods recalls our lost innocence. Eye Contactis a thrilling mystery tautly told, and beautifully realized. In it, Cammie McGovern leads us through the shadowlands of our own hometowns where words break down and paranoias proliferate, even as we yearn for one lost moment of fluency. This is a book of secrets that will change you.” —Michael Paterniti, New York Times bestselling author of Driving Mr. Albert: A Trip Across America with Einstein's Brain “Twin mysteries lie at the heart of this riveting and unforgettable novel: the identity and motives of a child-killer, and the inscrutable workings of an autistic boy’s mind. Only a writer like McGovern, whose brilliant gift for storytelling keeps pace with her unflinching emotional acuity, could take on both mysteries and succeed with such power and grace.” —Julie Orringer, author of How To Breathe Underwater "In the tradition of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime, Cammie McGovern delivers a compelling murder mystery that intrigues as much by what it hides as by what it so deftly reveals--the stark, poignant, deeply intimate moments in the lives of people living with autism and those who love them." —Patricia Stacey, author of The Boy Who Loved Windows.
Publisher: New York : Viking, c2006.
ISBN: 9780670037650
0670037656
Characteristics: 290 p. ;,24 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

g
GLNovak
Jul 31, 2013

The author has an interesting concept here - getting into the minds of people on various levels of the autistic spectrum while trying to solve what may or may not have been a murder - but I found myself confused about the actual story and the time periods and the relationships between the different characters. I agree with Sinis in that the story finally began to show cohesion about halfway through. I did enjoy Morgan and wish he had appeared earlier in the story. The information about autistics was interesting and informative, and could have been the story right there without tacking on the mystery as well.

Sinis Mar 04, 2012

Although this book gives great in site to children that are autistic and needs of special Ed students, also a great perspective of what an autistic child is thinking, I found the story itself lacking. Up until the last 80 pages I found myself wondering where the actual story was. Sure it was mentioned briefly throughout the beginning as an introduction but that's about it. When the story started to actually take place it was filled with twists and turns and you never really knew who did what. In the end it was an interesting read just for the in site of life with an autistic child with a little intrigue at the end.

l
lightbytheway
Dec 17, 2010

Eye Contact (Paperback)
by Cammie McGovern

What a great story! McGorvern touches our heart, inspires us and entertains us with a great psychological mystery. The author has an excellent insight into the topic and builds up the story cleverly. Cara is Adam's mother, a 9 year old child on the autism spectrum. She is a very good single mother and is devoted to his development and happiness. A tragedy happens in his school. A little girl has been found dead and Adam is the only witness; but his ability to communicate is very limited. We also visit Cara as a younger girl who had two good friends, Suzette and Kevin. Each one of them with psychological and health issues. The plot is outstanding and the characters are so well developed you feel a closeness to them.
I highly recommend this book for everyone, especially to those interested in the autism spectrum, as parents, relatives, friends, teachers and for anyone in the community to gain more awareness of this epidemic in today's world.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top