Pandora's Lunchbox

Pandora's Lunchbox

How Processed Food Took Over the American Meal

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:
In the tradition of Fast Food Nation and The Omnivore's Dilemma a fascinating and cutting-edge look at the scary truth about what really goes into our food.

In the tradition of Fast Food Nation and The Omnivore's Dilemma comes a fascinating and cutting-edge look at the scary truth about what really goes into our food.

If a piece of individually wrapped cheese can retain its shape, color, and texture for years, what does it say about the food we eat and feed to our children?

Former New York Times business reporter and mother Melanie Warner decided to explore that question when she observed the phenomenon of the indestructible cheese. She began an investigative journey that took her to research labs, university food science departments, and factories around the country. What she discovered provides a rare, eye-opening--and sometimes disturbing--account of what we're really eating. Warner looks at how decades of food science have resulted in the cheapest, most abundant, most addictive, and most nutritionally inferior food in the world, and she uncovers startling evidence about the profound health implications of the packaged and fast foods that we eat on a daily basis.

From breakfast cereal to chicken subs to nutrition bars, processed foods account for roughly 70 percent of our nation's calories. Despite the growing presence of farmers' markets and organic produce, strange food additives are nearly impossible to avoid. Warner digs deep into the ingredient lists of purportedly healthy foods, and what she finds will change the way readers eat--and how they feed their children.

Combining meticulous research, vivid writing, and cultural analysis, Warner blows the lid off the largely undocumented--and lightly regulated--world of chemically treated and processed foods and lays bare the potential price we may pay for consuming even so-called healthy foods.
Publisher: New York : Scribner, c2013.
ISBN: 9781451666731
Characteristics: xvii, 267 p. ;,24 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

g
grinninggirl
Jul 06, 2013

Warner dissects even the most "lightly"processed foods to reveal their almost other-worldly origins. Her warm, anecdotal style helps the reader hang in there when the bad news about our diet is exposed.

s
scientist01
Jun 17, 2013

Well-researched, popular presentation of what we think of as food isn't. Instead, it's a processed product where most nutritional components are physically and chemically destroyed, replaced by incomplete, synthetic supplements from China. Flavor and texture are destroyed too, but artificial additives compensate to fool you into thinking you are eating the real thing. The most common types of food are discussed, including some sold at Whole Foods (not so whole after all). Convenience comes at the expense of what most of us cannot imagine. If this book doesn't alter your shopping habits, nothing will. It will help you make healthier purchases as you read labels and scrutinize ingredients and additives.

r
rene1951
Mar 30, 2013

Much of that 35% not processed is really processed, it was done before the picking or slaughter; some even before the seed/embryo stage. (Genetically altered!).

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top